Log in

Log in

Annual Awards Nominations are OPEN!

27 Jun 2019 10:30 AM | Anonymous member
OCA is pleased to request nominations for the 2019 awards to be presented at AOCC.  

Nominations are due by midnight on Friday, August 31st.  Please send all nominations to Marlise Lonn at  A copy of the nomination form is attached to this e-mail.


You can find the nomination form and a description of the 8 awards on the OCA webpage at


Awards include:

Charles "Chuck" Weaver Award: One who has shown long, consistent and distinguished service to the counseling profession and who has shown exemplary caring for people.

Dave Brooks Award: One who has demonstrated a willingness to serve and take responsibility, while creating new paths in the counseling profession.

Herman J. Peters Award: One who promotes innovative ideas and theories in the counseling field and has a significant impact on future trends.

Susan J. Sears Counselor of the Year Award: One who has gone beyond the call of duty by demonstrating exceptional service as a practitioner and/or counselor educator, through the application of OCA goals.

Research & Writing Award: One who has demonstrated extraordinary research and writing ability, as evidenced by journal publications for the counseling profession.

Public Policy & Legislation Award: One who has demonstrated excellent advocacy by engaging in meaningful lobbying on behalf of the counseling profession.

Graduate Student Award:  The purpose of this award is to recognize a counseling graduate student who has excelled: in service to OCA and the counseling profession; counseling-related extracurricular or co-curricular involvements; and has demonstrated excellence and commitment to the profession.  

Professional Leadership Award:  This award recognizes and honors persons who through their vision, leadership, and concern for others and the profession have strengthened, expanded, and enhanced the counseling profession within Ohio.



Marlise Lonn

Chair, Ohio Counseling Association Awards Committee

Blog Post

Questions and comments can be directed to Amy Barcelo, Executive Director at: PO Box 470001 | Broadview Heights, OH 44147 | 216.438.1994

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software